4. Resources‎ > ‎Public Calls‎ > ‎Calls archive‎ > ‎

2010-03-01 | The Brian Michael Goldberg Memorial Award

posted 11 Mar 2010, 06:56 by Lola Fernández Santos   [ updated 21 Mar 2010, 05:53 by José María Díaz Nafría ]

The impact of research in Computational Modeling, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Formal Models of Learning, and Agent-based Simulations on the discipline of Philosophy has been profound. Contemporary discussions of epistemology, ethics, theory of mind, and philosophy of language have all benefited from lively, interdisciplinary debates over the relation between computational and formal models, and traditional philosophical questions. These debates have found their way into scholarly publications and textbooks, as well as into a growing number of Masters and Ph.D. theses.

In order to recognize outstanding achievements by Graduate Students in this area of research and scholarship, the International Association for Computing and Philosophy is proud to offer the "Brian Michael Goldberg Memorial Award" for presentations in any category listed above. This Award, which carries a $500 USD stipend, will be presented each year at one of the North American Computing and Philosophy conferences. Nominees and applicants are welcome from around the world.

The department of philosophy at Carnegie Mellon is the sponsor of this award and will serve as the site for submissions. The department will establish an international committee to review applications and, in conjunction with NA-CAP, will announce the yearly winner. Each year's winner will be expected to make a presentation at a NA-CAP conference as part of the Award Ceremony.

This Award was made possible by a generous gift from Dr. Gerald and Nancy Goldberg in memory of their son, Brian Michael Goldberg. In their words:

Brian was a twenty-two year old student who was admitted to Carnegie Mellon University in 1991 to the doctoral program in philosophy. He died unexpectedly before he could realize his dream of attending Carnegie Mellon. Brian was an independent thinker who loved competition and a good challenge. Throughout his life, he found it exciting to enter and win contests. He loved challenging his mind, especially by studying philosophy, mathematics and logic. He loved challenging his creativity through photography, painting and theatre arts. He loved challenging his body by learning such diverse sports as wrestling, fencing and scuba diving. He loved debating and challenging others to think in new ways and had seriously considered becoming a university professor. To honor who he was and what he loved, this Goldberg Memorial Award is offered to challenge and motivate other graduate students in Brian's chosen field of study.

Past recipients

2009: Matteo Turilli, Oxford University: "Translating Ethical Requirements into Software Specification"
2007: Rory Smead, University of California, Irvine: "The Evolution of Cooperation in the Centipede Game with Finite Populations"


Submissions are due on or before March 1st, 2010.

A complete submission consists of the following:

  • Presentation (length should be appropriate for a one-hour presentation which includes time for Q&A)
  • Presentation abstract, including your name and gradute program (200 words)
  • Email sent to mharrell@cmu.edu with the above two items as attachements.
 The Subject should be "Goldberg Award yourLastName".
   The Body should consist of your full name, graduate program, and a copy of the paper abstract.
  • Both documents should be in Microsoft Word or PDF format and composed in English. Be advised that CAP discourages mere paper reading during the presentation.

If you have any questions, please contact Mara Harrell at